Things we leave behind

Many times I find myself wondering what are we living for? One day we will cease existing and all our grades, our gossips, our laughs will not matter. This led me to wonder what matters after we are dead, what are we leaving behind?

tumblr-wallpaper-1280x800

One thing I know for sure is that Life goes on. I kinda find it hard to picture but after we die, Life is gonna continue, people are gonna live their life, there will be another generation and next and next, and you won’t be there.

So what is it that really matters?

What are the things we leave behind?

We leave behind how we made people feel, for what we did, for who we are, for what we achieved.

“What is the point of being alive if you don’t at least try to do something remarkable?”

And it is for this remarkable thing that we are gonna leave behind. Aristotle, Marilyn Monroe, Shakespeare, although they are dead, they are still remembered, are thought of.

Another thing we leave behind is our stories, the stories we tell, the stories we share, the stories we live everyday that is called life.

“If I tell you a story, even if it’s a dumb story, telling it changes other people just the slightest little bit, just as living the story changes me. An infinitesimal change. And that infinitesimal change ripples outward – ever smaller but everlasting. I will get forgotten, but the stories will last. And so we all matter – maybe less than a lot, but always more than some.”
― John Green, An Abundance of Katherines

So, In the end we all matter to each other in some way or the other. After we die, maybe they will remember us, maybe they will remember our stories, maybe because of what we did or maybe they won’t.

We shouldn’t live lives just to make an impression on someone’s mind,  to be remembered (although that is a great thing), we should live life to feel alive, to be. To be that living, screaming, breathing person that you are. And I think that is what matters.

5 thoughts on “Things we leave behind

  1. I love how you used the quote to say what you said. I love to write but often do not want to write because I fear others will not want to read it..what do you think?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Howdy sharingiscaring00,
      I think you should not fear if others want to read it, always try something new. Doesn’t matter if people wanna read it or not. Write more, Do what you love. There’s a quote saying-If you don’t love yourself, how do you expect others to love you. So, I would suggest that if you believe in something, follow it no matter what the people say.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.