By the beach; A Short story

Colva-beach-Goa.jpg

Ratan was in Goa on a school trip. The teacher asked everyone to play and remain on the sea shore. Ratan couldn’t help himself and wondered deep into the waters of the ocean. Ratan’s dad died three months ago. Filled with sorrow and misery, Ratan would rather stay melancholy rather than play with his school friends. His mom sent Ratan on a school trip hoping it would change his depressing mood to a jubilant one. As Ratan walked deep into the waters he went farther away from his class. He didn’t care, he went farther and farther.

The water reached to his chest when a familiar voice stopped him, saying “No, Ratan, don’t go further.” Ratan immediately recognized the voice, the voice which gave him hope and happiness, the voice which taught Ratan many of the life lessons, the voice which used to tell him stories before bed, the voice of his father. Ratan looked around and saw the spirit of his father. Ratan, with a voice half sad and half angry, said, “Daddy, why did you leave me? I miss you.”His dad, with a calm voice answered, “I died for my country, son. One day you will become an army soldier and you will understand why I sacrificed myself. And as for my leaving, I never left you , Ratan. Whenever you miss me, just close your eyes. The wind that you feel, that is me. I am always with you. Now go to your friends and play with them.” Before Ratan could utter any word, his dad’s spirit vanished into thin air. Ratan walked back to the sea shore, to his friends.

Before Ratan could utter any word, his dad’s spirit vanished into thin air. He closed his eyes and felt the wind, “I love you , Dad” he said and walked back to the sea shore, to his friends.

4 thoughts on “By the beach; A Short story

Leave a Reply

